Do you drink?

At my recent MOT at the docs, one of those standard over 50 tests we old dears get regularly, I was asked the usual question about my lifestyle. When it got to the subject of how much I drink, I replied honestly, “I don’t drink and haven’t had any alcohol for well over 10 years”. The nurse shook her head, “not even a glass at christmas?” “No” I firmly replied, “nothing, nada, not a drop”.

The next question was do I smoke, and this was where all hell broke loose. I smoke about 15 roll-ups a day, I don’t actually like ‘real’ cigs, they’re nasty, but this admission unleashed a tirade about the dangers of smoking, which is one thing guaranteed to send me into a rage. Even if I wanted to quit, there is no product on the market aimed at hand-rollers, you could argue that any smoking is bad, I disagree. To me the difference between ‘real’ cigs and roll-ups is like comparing a MuckD burger to a fresh home made one (tough analogy to use as a vegetarian!), I smoke pure tobacco, cigs have all sorts of nasties in them.

It never ceases to amaze me that drinking is so acceptable, considering some of the drunken louts that cause trouble on the streets late at night, but smoking isn’t. I never smoke outside the house, and only smoke in the kitchen out of Chris’ way, he quit not long after we met, but he never smoked much anyways.

As for the rest of my MOT, absolutely perfect health, blood pressure, all the blood tests, everything perfect, so smoking is bad for my health? I’ve been smoking since I was 13, hardly likely to stop now!

Leave a Reply

