Scrabbletastic!

After a gap of a few years, we rediscovered Scrabble and have played a game or two every day since Christmas. This evening, Shana achieved her highest score to date, a whopping 467, helped by seven-letter words at both start and end of the game: ‘ASHTRAYS’ and ‘BLOWERS’. Despite also getting a seven, ‘EARLIES’ (with the ‘S’ being played by a blank tile) I could manage only a paltry 322. As a result, I have decided to eschew my planned tomorrow’s breakfast of banana Weetabix, and shall instead simply eat a dictionary! Either that or I’ll have to resort to hiding the ‘Q’ and the ‘Z’ down the side of the sofa while the game is in progress. Desperate measures, dear readers. Desperate measures…

4 thoughts on “Scrabbletastic!

  1. I haven’t played Scrabble in years!
    It was my family’s go-to game in the wintertime, and we often had major games lasting hours – I do miss playing board games, but Mr Night Owl isn’t a one for them 😦
    We also used to play Monopoly, and those games could often last days πŸ™‚
    Those were excellent scores, BTW! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, my Mum was a real wordsmith, and was a demon at scrabble – we always felt like giants on the few occasions we beat her! Lol
        That’s how I got such a love of our language and all it’s many complications! πŸ™‚
        Thanks for the link – I’ve saved it and will look into it later on I think πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Same with my Mum, and my Grandparents, my Granddad used to make his own words up, we were always telling him off, family Scrabble games when I was a kid were epic! Cryptic crosswords were also a big fav, but my Mum always had priority over completing them! At school the teachers didn’t believe I could pass ‘O’ level English Language so I had to pay for the exam myself, well my Father did, I passed and got the fee refunded! πŸ˜€

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

