Envision tidiest Northern partners

Scrabble has been a strange experience for us today. Firstly, Smoky seemed to be trying to sabotage this lunchtime’s game. Thing is, since our recent shifting of furniture, we’ve been using a couple of temporary rugs while we wait for a proper floor covering to arrive. These rugs are wool (yes, real wool!) and are quite fluffy, as you might expect. And Smoky has taken quite a shine to them. Sometinmes though, he will suddenly pounce on some imaginary mouse or spider and will attack the rug with his claws. (Actually, it’s rare for him to savage the carpets, although he used to be a complete menace until we eventually bought him a few scratching posts.)

So there we were this afternoon, just getting started on a game, when Smoky pounces on the rug and the Scrabble table starts sliding along with it. We couldn’t help but laugh. ‘Bad kitty,’ I chuckled. Smoky soon simmered down and sloped off for his daily siesta.

This evening’s game though, was very odd. We always draw tiles from a bag and the nearest to ‘A’ starts the game. Today, we both picked the same letter and had to redraw. Shana won this mini battle. ‘I hate going first,’ she said. But not long after, she put down her first word: TIDIEST. Yes, seven letters straight away, with the requisite fifty bonus points to boot.

Shana had another three seven-letter words, namely ENVISION, NORTHErN and PARTNERs ( the lowercase letter indicates that a blank tile was used to represent that letter). Her total score was 442, comfortably eclipsing my rather wimpish 278.

scrabblejan2016

Shana’s assignment for the week will now be to concoct a story using the phrase ‘Envision tidiest Northern partners’. Good luck with that šŸ™‚

And we may now consider a Scrabble handicap system a bit like that used in horse racing. I shall have, say, a 100 head start. Or maybe 250, just to be on the safe side? Alternatively, I may start playing with nine tiles.

Or I could be really dastardly and simply tie up the bag using half a dozen of my special half hitches. I do know knots after all šŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Envision tidiest Northern partners

  1. I love the idea of making up a story using the words formed with the tiles – it’s a great way to get those imagination muscles working, isn’t it? šŸ™‚
    As for getting a handicap, my Mum would never grant us one of those, as she reckoned we needed to develop a more competitive streak, so a handicap just wasn’t on – and it’s true, it really made me want to beat her even more šŸ™‚
    Not that I ever did, as Mum had all those extra years of reading to use for her game than I had – and now neither of us have great memories šŸ˜¦
    Mind you, I reckon it’d make a fun game – probably with lots of cheating, with making up words, by us both! Lol
    It’s nice to read that you’re both still enjoying the game, though šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We often make little stories up as we play, ironically I’m using it as a ‘tool’ to try an improve my memory, which quite frankly appears to have left the building! As for a handicap, would stomping on Chris’ foot be allowed?!! LOL!! šŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

          1. You’re getting some great scores,aren’t you, Shana?
            Are you a voracious reader?
            I ask, because that’s the way I managed to start winning with scrabble – the more you read, the more words you begin to understand, absorb, and remember! Lol

            Liked by 1 person

              1. You’re braver than I then, Shana šŸ™‚
                I’ve got quite a collection of stories and poetry now but, apart from a couple of books of poetry that had some of my poems included, I’ve not really tried too hard to get published – although I’ve a children’s book in the process of being completed (I’m just waiting for my daughter to draw the pictures needed).
                I’ve not tried the self-publishing route as, when I first started out writing, it used to cost a fortune, and I haven’t looked into it since šŸ™‚
                Have you got any links to your writing?
                I’d love to have a look šŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

                1. All my writing is offline now, best kept out of the public domain! If you do choose to self publish, check out https://www.lulu.com/ and https://www.smashwords.com/, there is of course Amazon with their Kindle, but I chose not to publish on there because you have no control over the trolls that post spiteful comments, can be very distressing. Both Lulu and Smashwords publish to all sources, including Amazon, but you can opt out, and both are free to publish šŸ™‚

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

