A farewell to Epistaxis

Go on admit it: you thought this was going to be a post about my longing to go back to a small Greek island after spending an idyllic holiday there, didn’t you? Ah the blessed isle of Epistaxis, twenty miles north of Crete, in the balmy waters of the Aegean Sea πŸ™‚ Mentioned, if memory is to be relied upon, by Homer in his gazzetteer of Greek hotspots.

Dang!

Just my luck, ain’t it! You’re one of those confounded educated bunnies, aren’t you. (Dagnabbit!)

Right then, well for all the others who are still in the dark…

Epistaxis is the technical term for nosebleeds. From which I have suffered since my early years, way back in the twentieth century. Years ago, Ma and Pa’s response was to get me to tilt my head back (absolutely the worst way to treat a nosebleed) but this was quite likely more to do with stopping the living room, kitchen or family car from looking like a scene out of CSI than any sort of applied first-aid training.

Skip forward to about a year ago. Early in June 2015. I had experienced a sort of bloated feeling a couple of days running. So for a temporary period (or so I intended) of three weeks or so, I stopped drinking milk.

Four weeks later both Shana and I (me first, I think) noticed that my nosebleeds had pretty well stopped. They used to be a real nuisance and meant I couldn’t go anywhere without taking an emergency ration of pre-wadded up soft paper to staunch any spontaneous bleeds. Bright sunlight could bring them on. Heat, stress, even a severe sneeze could trigger one. And once I had brought it under control, I was wary for days afterwards of blowing my nose clear in case it started another one.

Since June 2015 I’ve had hardly any problems with the dreaded spistaxis.

Our conclusion (not a scientific one but based more on experience than anything else) is that in my case there is a strong correlation between drinking milk and suffereing from nosebleeds.

Shana thinks cows get too many antibiotics and that this might be the underlying reason. My own assumption is that dairy cows must be taking lots of,,. antiCOWagulants πŸ™‚

Anyway, I now drink my tea black (though still with some sugar) and it tastes the best it’s ever tasted.

And for breakfast cereal, I simply pour on plenty of…

Beer!

Had you going there, didn’t I?

No, actually we both switched to Alpro almond milk, which is readily available at loads of shops. As for cow’s milk, I don’t miss it at all.

Could my solution work for you if you also suffer from the dreaded spistaxis? No idea. I’m not a doctor and I don’t give medical or dietary advice. [Follow this link if you want officially approved medical advice on nosebleeds.] ]But if you’ve tried everything else, it might be worth a go. Let us know how you get on if you do decide to kick that milk habit πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “A farewell to Epistaxis

Leave a Reply

