The Creaky Invaders from Venus

Science fiction. Usually, it’s all advanced technology and far-fetched scenarios. It can be hard to get your head around some of it, especially if you have a head(s) as woolly as ours can be (I think I can safely speak for Shana on that score, even though she’s not in the room at the monent).

Old sci-fi though, is much more comfortable territory.

targetearth

Take the ‘creaky’ film we recorded recently and watched at lunchtime today. ‘Target Earth‘, made in the late 1950s, might have been hi-tech once, but now it’s reassuringly low-tech. The robot invader from Venus (according to one character’s assumptions) which was part of an army invading Earth, was about as menacing as something I might have cobbled together out of cardboard boxes. And the fact that it apparently operated via a cathode ray tube in its head marked this picture as firmly dated and deserving of our word ‘creaky’.

The chauvinistic dialogue and stereotyped gender roles made this a classic of its era. The only disappointment (for me anyway) was that the soundtrack was not available to buy anywhere. Well that’s what Shana said and who am I to argue?

Oh and don’t be fooled by the poster. The film was definitely in black-and-white. I can’t imagine how terrifying it would have been in colour 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “The Creaky Invaders from Venus

  1. I, too, love the old scifi films, especially when I want something to watch that won’t tax my brain during ‘foggy’ days, or when I desperately need a laugh 🙂

    I love the modern stuff, too, but always love going back to the old black & white films – there’s something that’s very atmospheric in watching them – and which taakes me back to a childhood where the films could scare me silly at times! Lol

    My absolute favourite scary movie, though, has got to be 1957 B&W film ‘Night of the Demons’. I wasn’t even born when it was made, and didn’t see it for the first time until I was 24, but it still makes my blood run cold today – although the remake, in colour, was rubbish! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t get us started on the subject of remakes. We think they’re just a lame attempt to make more money for the film studios without inventing anything new, whilst spoiling the memory of the originals. Thus, War of the Worlds (we recently watched the original but will always avoid the Tom Cruise remake). Same with King Kong (we saw the original quite a long time ago). And, though it’s not a budget horror flick,of course, I will never go near the remake of that all-time classic, The Italian Job. Can’t remember if anyone’s remade The Wicker Man, but the same would go for that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Both Bob and I are totally with you there. How anyone could ruin such classics is beyond me but, like you, we’re pretty sure that it’s the clink-clink of the cash tills that’s caused such awful remakes – give us the originals any time! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

