How to make money by mowing the lawn

We mowed the lawn today. I mowed: Shana strimmed.

It needed doing. After all, in the longish grass at the far end we discovered a couple of Japanese soldiers who didn’t realise World War 2 had finished 🙂

Anyway, I remembered a piece of advice given by Monty Don recently on Gardeners’ World. He said that leaving grass cuttings on your lawn (actually he was talking about a meadow, but the principle still applies) after mowing, will make your lawn grow more vigorously. It’s all to do with the cuttings rotting down and releasing nitrogen, which in effect is a superfood for lawns. Last thing we want, right? I mean, we don’t want to be out mowing and strimming every week if we can help it.

So we dusted off our trusty (no, not ‘rusty’) lawn rake, and removed the cuttings as best we could.

And it was as we surveyed the mini-mountain of clippings that a brainwave hit me. (Or it could have been today’s sweltering heat. Who knows?)

‘Great idea to make some money,’ I said. ‘We could divvy up this pile of cuttings into compact amounts. Perhaps put them in a little box with a bow on it, so it would make a nice gift. And then sell them on a well known internet auction site.’

Shana was agog. Or maybe it was the Saharan Setptember temperatures starting to get to her. Who knows?

‘As “Compost Heap Starter Kits”,’ I said.

But alas, my grand scheme may not come to fruition, because even as i spoke, Shana was herding me towards the dumpsters, together with my bin bag full of grass cuttings. So this is just a sort of ‘note to self’ about my potentially lucrative idea. It’ll keep for another time. If you’re reading this though, I may decide to patent the concept, so Look out for me on Dragons Den soon 🙂

One thought on “How to make money by mowing the lawn

Leave a Reply

