When the Internet went boing

After I’d written the Happy Anniversary post, I had an overwhelming bout of nostalgia. As I mentioned in the post, I’ve been on the Internet since the 90’s, the 1990’s not the 1890’s, there was no internet back then, unless you believe in Steampunk!

The only method of connecting was by a modem, it was known as Dial-up Internet Access.
There were quite a few ISP‘s to choose from, most of them only allowed you to connect for an hour, then you had to redial. And for those of you too young to know what it sounded like, here’s a clip I found earlier…

It wasn’t very fast either, my first modem was 9600 baud, 9.6 kbit/s, painfully slow, but we didn’t know any different at the time, eventually I ended up with a 56k, 56.0/48.0 kbit/s. I think my inner geek is unleashing!

The ISP I used at the time gave you a certain amount of webspace for your own webpages, so I started to design websites for businesses. This was before any WYSIWYG software was available, I wrote every page out in code, initially with tables until CSS became more widely available.

I found writing the code quite easy, it was persuading businesses that they needed a web presence that was the tough part, most were quite dismissive. I don’t like hard selling, so I’d try gentle friendly persuasion, and I did it for as low a price as I could, bearing in mind they already had webspace, it just needed decorating!

After spending some considerable time with one client explaining why he needed a web site to enable his business to be virtually available 24/7, allowing people to contact him even when his ‘bricks and mortar’ business wasn’t open, he took a deep breath before asking me “What happens when I turn my computer off, will the web site disappear?” I smiled as sweetly as possible, while stifling my laughter, and calmly reassured him that I would personally make sure his website didn’t disappear.

Well I think it’s time to put my inner geek back in its box and get back to crafting, I’m always designing something, can’t seem to help myself!

2 thoughts on “When the Internet went boing

  1. My daughter would go spare at these speeds. Whenever she visits, she moans about my internet speed, being more used to her super-duper, does everything but bake a pie phone-gadget-thingy!
    But this does remind me of my CB days, where we were thrilled to be able to talk to Lorry drivers going through our town, pretending we had american accents – because that was really cool then – and giving ourselved ‘Handles’!
    I was Lady Godiva, or Lady G, to my friends, but refused to ride bare-backed in the town carnival that year, as I couldn’t stay on the horse without a saddle. They kept telling me it was riding Nude on a horse, but I knew my history, and wasn’t fooled by them! Lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

